The Soul Sessions – Joss Stone (2003)

October 11, 2007

The Soul Sessions - Joss Stone (2003)

Yes, I am aware that this is Joss’ first CD and that she has released three. But I am just recently getting around to playing and listening to this purchase I made a while back. I really liked the tune “Fell in Love With a Boy” and that got my curiosity up so I made the purchase. At the time, I had no idea that the song was a cover of a White Stripes tune, plus I didn’t (and still don’t) know what a White Stripe was!

A year later I finally sat down to actually listen to this CD after seeing the young Miss Stone perform on numerous TV award shows. I now really like all of the tunes/covers on the CD except the version of the Isley Brothers “For the Love of You”: the tempo is stretched out so slow that the melody is unrecognizable and the beautiful melody is what the song is all about. Otherwise Betty Wright has done a fine job producing Joss’ first outing with a crew of dynamite musicians, that include Latimore and Timmy Thomas, that make the tracks super funky.

Track List:

1. The Chokin’ Kind composed by Harlan Howard. Original perfomed by Waylon Jennings 1967/Country. Joe Simon had a R&B Hit Cover 1969.
2. Super Duper Love composed by Willie Garner.
3. Fell in Love with a Boy Composed by Jack & Meg White. Original performed by The White Stripes 2002.
4. Victim of a Foolish Heart composed by Charles Buckins & George Jackson. Original performance by Bettye Swan 1992.
5. Dirty Man composed by Bobby Miller. Original performance by Laura Lee 1990.
6. Some Kind of Wonderful composed by John Ellsion. Original performance by Grand Funk Railroad 1975.
7. I’ve Fallen in Love with You composed and performed by Carla Thomas 1968.
8. I Had a Dream composed and performed by John Sebastian 1970.
9. All the King’s Horses composed and performed by Aretha Franklin 1971.
10. For the Love of You Pts. 1 & 2 were written by Rudolph Isley for his wife and first performed by The Isley Brothers 1975.

I am still not sure if the teen aged Joss is just mimicing soul music she has heard or really has something deep in her soul that she is expressing — but time will tell. I have her second and third cds, but have yet to listen to them. Bottom line, Joss’ voice is a wonderful instrument. You can’t go wrong if you purchase this CD.

Here’s the video performance of the song that first piqued my interest. Enjoy.

Thanks for reading,


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: