All the Way – Etta James (2006)

October 18, 2007

All the Way - Etta James (2006)

I haven’t won much in my life, but I actually won this CD by entering a contest online answering questions about Miss Etta. I entered specifically to win the CD since I was low on funds and I just love, love me some Etta!

When it arrived, I was surprised that it was a CD of cover tunes, but I was not disappointed. Miss Etta really made all of the songs her own, in her husky alto and The Roots Band (consisting of Miss Etta’s two sons) made the experience complete.

I never really thought that anyone could do “Purple Rain” but Prince — but Miss Etta proved me wrong. And her rendition of “Stop on By” is just as good as Bobby Womack’s original, if not better IMHO!

I have uploaded these two for you to give a listen to, but I really ♥ the entire CD. My least favorite rendition is “All the Way”, but that is only because I think Frank Sinatra did the definitive version that no one can top.

Here is the entire Track Listing:

1. All the Way – written by Sammy Cahn & Jimmy Van Heusen.
2. Shop On By – written by Thomas Truman & Bobby Womack. A Womack classic!
3. Strung Out – written and performed by Johnny “Guitar” Watson, Etta’s blues mentor.
4. Somewhere – written by Leonard Bernstein and Stephen Sondheim for “West Side Story”.
5. Holding Back the Years – written by Michael James Hucknall & Neil Moss. Original hit perfomance by Simply Red.
6. Imagine – written and performed by John Lennon.
7. I Believe I Can Fly – written and performed by Robert Kelly.
8. It’s a Man’s Man’s Man’s World written by James Brown & Betty Jean Newsome & a hit for James Brown’s performance.
9. Purple Rain – written and performed by Prince
10 What’s Going On – written by Renaldo Benson (of the 4 Tops) & Marvin Gaye. Of course a hit for Marvin Gaye’s performance.
11. Calling You – written by Robert E. Telson and first performed by Latin artist Gal Costa in 1986.

I have seen two reviews on popular web sites that were not kind to this CD long after I had listened to it and enjoyed it. That is one of the many reasons that I never heed any music or movie reviewers article, because most seem to have all of their taste in their mouths.

If you slept on this one I would say you can’t go wrong with the purchase. But listen and decide for yourself.

EttaJames-StopOnBy.mp3

EttaJames-PurpleRain.mp3

Now when this CD came out last year Miss Etta went on tour to promote it, but she did not sing a single song from it when I went to see her on this tour. Instead she performed her blues classics which she knew her audience wanted to here. I thought I would close this entry out by pointing you to one of my favorite Etta performances: I posted a link to it on my Yahoo Weblog here about a year ago.

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

