Complete Clapton – Eric Clapton (2007)

October 25, 2007

Complete Clapton - Eric Clapton (2007)

On October 9, 2007 “Complete Clapton” 2-Cd set was released along with the Clapton Autobiography. As I blogged about on my Web Journal — I learned about the dual release during Eric’s “Larry King Show” interview/promotional appearance.

Of course I ordered the pair immediately and received them this past weekend… just in time for this week’s commute to work. So far I have played CD 1 about 3 times through. Then I put in CD 2, specifically to hear “Layla Unplugged” and “If I Could Change the World”, but I ended up putting CD 1 back in. Those older songs are all classics and I just could not resist.

I have a lot to thank Eric Clapton for: you see he is the one that introduced me to the wonderful music of The Honorable Robert Nesta Marley!

I knew Eric from Cream. “White Room” was one of my absolute favorite tunes as soon as it came out in 1968. And of course whenever I hear(what must the the most recognizable bass line in all of Rock music) “Sunshine of your Love”, I always think of my high school basketball and football games and the cheer we had based on that base line. Our team was the Cadets and the chant was “Cadets are great and we’re out to prove it!” .

Anyway I stuck with Eric through “After Midnight” (1970) and Layla (1970) with Derek & the Dominoes. And then it happened — Eric finally went solo and released “461 Ocean Boulevard” in July of 1974. This album contained a cover of a song by a Jamaican artist named Bob Marley. According to his autobiography, Eric didn’t think it was a great performance since he knew nothing about reggae music – but those around him kept telling him it was going to be a hit. On September 14, 1974 — “I Shot The Sheriff” becomes Clapton’s first US #1 single; it is certified gold five days later!

The song was and is fantabulous. Of course I just HAD to know where the song came from. And that folks, was the beginning of my musical love affair with Bob Marley! I started to purchase anything and everything that he created and I miss him sorely (RIP Brother Bob) and am so sorry I never got a chance to see him perform live in person.

But back to “Clapton Complete” . Here’s the track list so you can see just how complete this set is.

Disc 1:

1. I Feel Free: Cream
2. Sunshine of Your Love: Cream
3. White Room: Cream
4. Crossroads (Live at the Winterland) : Cream
5. Badge: Cream
6. Presence of the Lord: Blind Faith
7. After Midnight
8. Let It Rain
9. Bell Bottom Blues – Derek & the Dominoes
10. Layla – Derek & the Dominoes
11. Let It Grow
12. I Shot the Sheriff
13. Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door
14. Hello Old Friend
15. Cocaine
16. Lay Down Sally
17. Wonderful Tonight
18. Promises
19. I Can’t Stand It

Take a reading break and have a listen to one of my favorites – “Lay Down Sally”. Interestingly enough, even though Clapton was a co-writer of this song (writers Eric Clapton/Marcy Levy/George Terry), the first to record it was Tom Jones on his 1968 lp “Delilah”. Tom’s version sounds very Vegas-y while Eric’s version is rockabilly heaven to me!

Ok – to me Disc 1 was worth the price of admission, but here’s the track list for what I will call the Bonus Disc 2:

1. I’ve Got a Rock ‘n’ Roll
2. She’s Waiting
3. Forever Man
4. It’s in the Way That You Use It
5. Miss You
6. Pretending
7. Bad Love
8. Tears in Heaven
9. Layla Unplugged
10. Running on Faith Unplugged
11. Motherless Child
12. Change the World
13. My Father’s Eyes
14. Riding With the King – Eric Clapton & B.B. King
15. Sweet Home Chicago
16. If I Had Possession Over Judgment
17. Ride the River – J.J. Cale & Eric Clapton

Check out Eric Clapton’s official website for forthcoming new music and concerts.
And just a final aside – Jimi, Eric, BB, Prince, Shuggie (no last names required) and Jose Feliciano are are five of the greatest guitarist ever IMHO!

Thanks for stopping by to read and listen.

One Response to “Complete Clapton – Eric Clapton (2007)”

  1. Luie Says:

    Great album!!
    Buoght it last week…
    😀


Leave a comment