Joined Together: The Complete Studio Duets – Diana Ross & The Supremes And The Temptations (2004)

January 10, 2008

joined-together.jpg
This is definitely an item for Motown lovers, collectors and completists. As I do, you may already own both 1968’s “Diana Ross & the Supremes Join the Temptations” and 1969’s “Together”. But now you can have it on 2 remastered pristine CDs with bonus material of previously unreleased tracks from the recording sessions for the former and and alternate mixes from the recording sessions of the latter.
*
The albums themselves were nothing spectacular. They contain lots of Motown covers and standards from the era. But I love Motown and I just had to have them on CD once I found out they existed. Ironically they came out in 2004, but I just discovered them last year. It seems that Motown is not big on promoting the music and why I don’t know because there are plenty of us “Boomers” wanting it more and more! We “Boomers” made Motown what it was, so I don’t understand why they don’t want to cater to our musical needs now and release some of the long out of print sounds that we love.
*
Anyway, listen below to some of the great music you may never have heard before. Enjoy!

200px-supremes-join-tempts.jpg
Disc 1 Track List:
1. Opening Medley
2. Try It Baby
3. I Second That Emotion
4. Ain’t No Mountain High Enough
5. I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
6. This Guy’s In Love With You (Otis Sings!- LOL)
7. Funky Broadway
8. I’ll Try Something New
9. A Place in the Sun
10. Sweet Inspiration
DR&TS And The Temptations – Sweet Inspiration
11.Then
12. The Impossible Dream
Bonus Tracks (all previously unreleased):
13. Medley: You Can’t Hurry Love/You Keep Me Hanging On
14. Got To Get You Into My Life
15. You Gave Me Something (And Everything’s Alright)
16. A House Is Not A Home
Bonus Track: DR&TS And The Temptations – A House is Not a Home
17. If You Should Walk Away
18. Amen
drats-temptations-together.jpg

Disc 2 Track List:
1. Stubborn Kind of Fellow
2. I’ll Be Doggone
3. The Weight
4. Ain’t Nothing Like The Real Thing
5. Uptight (Everything’s Alright)
6. Sing A Simple Song
7. My Guy, My Girl
8. For Better or Worse
9. Can’t Take My Eyes Off You
10 Why (Must We Fall In Love)
Alternate Mixes:
11. I’ll Try Something New
12. Stubborn Kind of Fellow
13. Try It Baby
14. Funky Broadway
15. The Weight
16. Sing a Simple Song
17. My Guy, My Girl
18. Can’t Take My Eyes off You (Mary Wilson Solo Version)
DR&TS And The Temptations – Can’t Take My Eyes Off You
19. I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
20. Not Now, I’ll Tell You Later (Recorded October 1, 1963)
*
Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

