Ray Sings Basie Swings – Ray Charles & The Count Basie Orchestra (2006)

January 24, 2008

ray-sings-basie-swings.jpg

I was prepared not to like this one, but it seems that Starbucks has given us another winner. I discovered this one a few weeks ago when I finally got the Ray Charles Box set that contained Ray Charles’ last recorded album “Genius Loves Company” . This was the 2nd of the three CDs contained in the box.

The idea for this posthumous album started when an old tape was found in the record company vault that contained both Ray Charles’ and The Count Basie Orchestra’s music. That gave the producer, Gregg Field, the idea to make an album of the two entities together — even though they had never actually done so in real life. I think this promotional video, from Concord records, tells the story of the “making of ” this album far better than I could.

This is the track list and I have also include my three favorite songs on the cd. There were a few songs that had a tad bit too much orchestration for me — but all in all, this is really a good outing. The best part of all is hearing standard show tunes (Track #1) and classic pop (Track10) sung soulfully and being phrased only the way Ray Charles could have done! I guess that’s why the word “genius” is always spoken in the same breath as “Brother Ray Charles.” We miss you Brother Ray and are truly grateful that you passed this way. RIP.

Track Listing:

1. Oh What A Beautiful Morning – this is definitely not the version we sang in elementary school glee club (LOL)

Ray Charles & The Count Basie Orchestra – Oh What a Beautiful Morning

2. Let The Good Times Roll

3. How Long Has This Been Going On?

4. Every Saturday Night

5. Busted

6. Crying Time

7. I Can’t Stop Loving You

8. Come Live With Me

9. Feel So Bad

10. The Long and Winding Road

Ray Charles & The Count Basie Orchestra – The Long and Winding Road

11. Look What They’ve Done to My Song – hear the “new” Raylettes? Very Nice!

Ray Charles & The Count Basie Orchestra – Look What They’ve Done to My Song

12. Georgia on My Mind.

As always I appreciate your visit.

Thanks for stopping by.

myblacksig.png

Leave a Reply

