As Time Goes By … The Great American Song Book Vol. II – Rod Stewart (2003)

February 7, 2008


This second Volume of the Great American Songbook, is not as great as the first one IMHO. And the addition of a duet with Cher was a huge huge mistake. Not only is Cher’s voice not suited to these songs, but she sounds terrible paired with Rod Stewart: their voices do not blend in any way, shape or form.

Well I love Rod, but this was just a mediocre release. For me it serves as background music while blogging or book reading. Nothing more. Nothing less. So my recommendation to you is that unless you are a completist or huge Rod fan, do not spend your money on this volume. Get the first in the series instead, as I reviewed here, if you haven’t purchased it yet.

The track list for this volume is as follows:

1 Time After Time
2 I’m in the Mood for Love
3 Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
4 Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered – This is the awful duet with Cher
5 ‘Till There Was You – Yes I know I just posted this as sung my Marvin Gaye and Kim Weston in an earlier post. Yes I still prefer The Beatles cover version. But I just like the song — so here it is again 🙂

6 Until the Real Thing Comes Along
7 Where or When
8 Smile
9 My Heart Stood Still
10 Someone to Watch Over Me – a favorite classic tune of mine no matter who covers it.

11 As Time Goes By – Duet with Queen Latifah.

Rod Stewart – As Time Goes By Featuring Queen Latifah (2003)

12 I Only Have Eyes for You
13 Crazy She Calls Me
14 Love Is Here to Stay

Thanks for stopping by. I look forward to your visits.




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: