Songs I Heard – Harry Connick, Jr. (2001)

February 14, 2008

150-px-connick-songs-i-heard.jpg

I have been a big fan of Harry Connick, Jr. ever since I heard him sing his first note! I love his voice and his singing style and his band’s orchestration. But this CD has got to be my favorite. The only music collection from Connick that would beat this one would be if I could have a video/audio of his TV Christmas Special that I only got to see part way through years ago. I recall vividly watching Harry and the Band performing Christmas tunes in his own New Orleans style only to have to turn the to channel because a younger sister was whining about not wanting to see such “boring music” on TV. I am so sorry I was Miss Nice Guy and yielded to her whims, because it was musical genius in flight, and I have never seen that Holiday Special re-aired since. If anyone has a video of that Holiday Special do get in touch with me as I would love to see it again.

But back to this set – Harry takes some of the songs from his (and my) childhood from musicals such as “Annie”, the beloved “Wizard of Oz”, “The Sound of Music” and “Mary Poppins,” among others, and orchestrates them in his own New Orleans/Big Band Style — turning these childhood dittys into the coolest adult fare ever!

Picking just a few to share here was really hard to do but I managed. Give a listen and I am sure you will get the entire CD. Each song is a Connick masterpiece. And Mr. C – I know you are into the acting now, but please come back to the music. We miss you.

Track Listing:

1. Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious – Harry Connick, Jr. (2001)

2. The Lonely Goatherd
3. Ding-Dong! The Witch is Dead
4. Maybe
5. Pure Imagination / Candy Man
6. Golden Ticket / I Want it Now
7. Oompa Loompa
8. A Spoonful of Sugar
9. Stay Awake
10. Something Was Missing
11. You’re Never Fully Dressed Without a Smile
12. Over The Rainbow
13. The Jitterbug
14. Merry Old Land of Oz Merry Old Land of Oz – Harry Connick, Jr. (2001)

15. Edelweiss
16. Do-Re-Mi Do-Re-Mi – Harry Connick, Jr. (2001)

Thanks for stopping by.

myblacksig.png

One Response to “Songs I Heard – Harry Connick, Jr. (2001)”


  1. […] was 11, 20, 25 and this is 30, which was coincidentally release at the same time as “Songs I Heard”– another of my favorite Connick […]


Leave a Reply

