Country Croonin’ – 30 Timeless Country Classics – Anne Murray (2002)

March 6, 2008

150-px-country-croonin.jpg

This is Anne Murry’s second “Croonin’ CD. Her first was recorded in 1993 and was her tribute to music of the 50s. This second CD, “Country Croonin'”, is a collection of Anne’s favorite classic country songs. I made this purchase when the CD first came out because I love most of the county pop classics: they have been covered over and over again, but have never lost my interest because they are great songs like they don’t make anymore. And of course, secondly, I love Ms. Murray’s voice and have ever since this Canadian songbird came on the US musical scene with her 1970 hit “Snowbird”.

Here is the two CD set track list along with two cuts from each disk — and believe me it was really hard to pick just two per disk!

Disc 1

1. Help Me Make It Through The Night – I love this song but to me no one can top Gladys Knight and the Pips cover version!

2. Someday (You’ll Want Me to Want You)

3. The End of the World

4. Oh Lonesome Me – from the CD liner notes:

“Written and sung by Country Music Hall of Fame inductee Don Gibson, this 1958 song was his first No. 1 hit. The single was a double-sided bonanza, since the “B” side was the classic “I Can’t Stop Loving You.” “

Anne Murray – Oh Lonesome Me

5. I Can’t Stop Loving You – Ray Charles’ cover is my favorite rendition of this song ever!

6. Me and Bobby McGee – I prefer the writer (Kris Kristoferson) singing this song over Roger Millers’ original and/or Janis Joplin’s only number one (posthumous) hit cover .

7. Can’t Help Falling in Love – Elvis introduced it and though I am not a big Elvis fan I must say his version is the best I have heard of this one.

8. Let It Be Me (with Vince Gill) – this is nice but no one has EVER topped Jerry Butler & Betty Everett’s cover version of this classic gem!

9. Singing the Blues – from the CD Liner notes:

“This 1956 Marty Robbin golden oldie became a No. ! pop hit for Guy Mitchell. But its status in the Nashville repertoire has been maintained by many, many subsequent country rendition, including ones by Gail Davies, Randy Travis, Hank Locklin, Jimmie Dale Gilmore and the Kentucky HeadHunters.”

Now I have no clues about any of these versions listed above and I have no idea how I know this song or where I first heard it as a child, but I know it and I love it. I must know if from early Sixties am radio when if it was a hit, no matter what the genre, it was played. Oh the good old days.

Anne Murray – Singing the Blues

10. I Really Don’t Want to Know

11. A Fool Such as I

2. Always on My Mind – Brenda Lee started it, Elvis cover it but the award winning version by Willie Nelson is the best!

13. (‘Til) I Kissed You

14. Loving Arms

15. Are You Lonesome Tonight

Disc 2

1. Make the World Go Away – I think that Eddie Arnold’s cover of this Ray Price hit is my all-time favorite version.

2. Anytime

3. You Don’t Know Me – Another song that Ray Charles covered and no one can beat it!

4. Bye, Bye Love – Of all of the Everly Brothers songs on this 2 CD set. this cover by Anne is my favorite. From the CD Liner Notes;

“This jaunty number was the 1957 career-launching single for Country Music Hall of Fame inductees The Everly Brothers. It was written by another Hall of Fame team, Boudleaux & Felice Bryant. “

Anne Murray – Bye, Bye Love

5. Vaya Con Dios – this was a song I remember my Dad singing – especially after he returned from a Mexican vacation with one of my Step-mother’s and step-sister. When my Dad liked a song – my loving it wasn’t far behind as we had very similar musical tastes. Anne sings it well. From the CD liner notes:

“A hit in 1953, it was originally popularized by Les Paul & Mary Ford. Both members of this pop team had roots in country music, he as the hillbilly radio guitarist “Rhubarb Red” and she as performer Colleen Summers, a guitarist in Jimmy Wakely’s cowboy band singer in The Sunshine Girls on Gene Autry’s radio broadcasts. “Vaya Con Dios” firmly entered the country repertoire via a bilingual revival by Tex-Mex star Freddy Fender in 1976.”

Anne Murray – Vaya Con Dios

6. Take These Chains From My Heart -Again — no one can top Brother Ray. Once he sings a song it becomes his, hands down!

7. For the Good Times – When Rev. Al Green covered this Kris Kristoferson song he ruined it for every other singer across the board. This is the definitive cover!

8. Sea of Heartbreak

9. She’ll Have to Go

10. I’m Confessin’ (That I Love You) / I’m a Fool to Care

11. Blue, Blue Day

12. That’s The Way Love Goes

13. I Fall to Pieces – Pastsy Cline Period!

14. All I Have to Do Is Dream

15. Tennessee Waltz

If you are new to Anne and want to find out more about her, check out her official web site here where you will find current news, her performing schedule, biography, discography for 1968-1974 , a store, link to her charity site and more.

Also here is a YouTube video I found of Ann performing her 1970 hit “Snowbird”. It’s a little battered and tattered visually but it’s the music that counts. Hope you enjoy it.

I appreciate your visit and hope to see more of you.

myblacksig.png

4 Responses to “Country Croonin’ – 30 Timeless Country Classics – Anne Murray (2002)”

  1. R.M. Johnson Says:

    You are as much a part of music as Elvis ~!!!
    Love your music!

  2. sondan Says:

    I thank you for the compliment and am glad you are enjoying the music. Hope to see you stop by here again real soon. Take care.

  3. Kay Ball Says:

    Was Ann Murry the first to record “Take The Ribbons From my Hair” or Help Me Make it Through the Night? I think that’s the name of it.
    Kay Ball

  4. sondan Says:

    Hi Kay,

    Great to meet you!

    “Help Me Make It Through the Night” is a country music ballad composed by Kris Kristofferson and released on his 1970 album Kristofferson. The history of the oft covered on can be found here.

    My favorite cover of this awesome song is the Gladys Knight version. Check out the video of her singing it live right here.

    I do appreciate your visit and hope to see more of you.

    Regards,
    SonDan


Leave a Reply

