Stardust … The Great American Songbook Vol. 3 – Rod Stewart (2004)

May 8, 2008

This is the third of four volumes in Rod Stewart’s J Record’s Great American Songbook covers. I have reviewed the first two volumes here on this blog:

I am quite content with this purchase just as much as the other two and think that you will enjoy it too. Mr. Stewart’s renditions aren’t anything extraordinary, but the songs are some of the best ever written so no harm no foul 😉

Track Listing:

1. Embraceable You
2. For Sentimental Reasons
3. Blue Moon – featuring Eric Clapton on guitar.
4. What a Wonderful World – featuring Stevie Wonder on harmonica.


What a Wonderful World (Live) – Rod Stewart
This live version of course is not the CD version that features Stevie Wonder on harmonica.

Yes, I know this isn’t Rod Stewart! I just wanted to check out my favorite version of this song as performed by the originator — Louis Armstrong (live). Composed by Bob Thiele and George David Weiss, specifically for Armstrong, it made Louis the oldest male to ever top the music charts , at sixty-six years and ten months old. No matter who I hear cover this classic — I always think of Louis Armstrong.

5. Stardust – countless people have covered this tune and it never gets old for me.
6. Manhattan – featuring Bette Midler. This is one of the best duets Rod has done in the CD series IMHO. It was a perfect song for the two to duet on.

7. ‘S Wonderful
8. Isn’t It Romantic

9. I Can’t Get Started – this is actually a song I had not heard before. But I liked it immediately.

10. But Not For Me – another favorite classic of mine and Rod did it justice!
11. A Kiss to Build a Dream On – another of my favorite Louis Armstrong classic.
12. Baby, It’s Cold Outside – duet with Dolly Parton. Hmm. I would have never thought to put Dolly in this style of duet – but surprisingly it works. I guess Dolly CAN sing anything! She’s a true singing star.


This is the CD version.

13. Night and Day
14. A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square

Thanks for reading. Keep enjoying the music.

Leave a Reply

