Love Collection (Import) – Tom Jones (2007)

May 29, 2008

Interesting compilation of love songs. It does not include “Green Green Grass of Home” so that is a negative right off the bat for me. This seems very “thrown together” and I don’t recommend it as a purchase. Most of the performances are terribly orchestrated and the song selection pretty much stinks.

I have three or four other import CDs that I purchased over the years while trying to find the ultimate Tom Jones collection. Those CDs don’t fit the bill either. They turned out to be culled from the many TV performances of Jones and his guests from his variety show days of the Sixties.

Here’s the so-so Track List:

1. Funny Familiar Forgotten Feelings
2. Never Give Away Love (Stereo Version)
3. Help Yourself
4. Dr. Love
5. It’s Not Unusual (2nd Studio Version)
6. When I Fall In Love
7. Hello Young Lovers
8. He’ll Have To Go
9. If You Go Away
10. Wichita Lineman
11. Let It Be Me
12. Love’s Been Good To Me
13. I Can’t Stop Loving You
14. What The World Needs Now Is Love
15. I Need Your Loving
16. Without You (Non C’e Che Lei)
17. If Ever I Would Leave You
18. I Was Made To Love Her

So I guess my search will continue on. If anyone has any suggestions I am quite open to hear them. I just want to have a nice collection of Tom’s greatest hits and best performed selections of his hey-day. I watched his TV variety show religiously and sorely miss it. Dude was a helluva performer!

Since I am not recommending this particular CD as a “must own” I decided to share with you some of Mr. Jones’ great live performances as found on youtube, instead of posting any of the mundance versions found on this particular compilation.

What’d I Say Live – 1964

I Wanna Know Live – circa 1969

What’s New Pussycat

Green, Green Grass of Home

I Who Have Nothing Live – 1974

Hope you enjoyed these performances. You can learn more about the music career of Tom Jones, born Thomas John Woodward in South Wales, by reading Stephen Thomas Erlewine’s Biography of Tom at AllMusic.

I thank you for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

