Before Me – Gladys Knight (2006)

June 19, 2008

It took a while but I finally made this purchase. I wanted it when the release was first announced back in 2006. The first few times I went to my local Best Buy it was not in stock and subsequently I just kept forgetting about it.

I’ve listened to it twice now and it wasn’t what I expected but i really like it. By the third listen I will probably be hooked.

I will say that Ms. Night’s foray into singing standards is actually better than the more recent series of compilations done by Rod Stewart and Clive Davis. (Rod’s first was his best IMHO). Ms. Knight puts more “flavor” into the songs. I was hoping that there would actually be even MORE GLADYS but there was something different in her voice in this collection.

She said that she studied these female artists that paved the way for her, hence the title “Before Me,” but in doing so I think her renditions reflect more of the artists she is saluting rather than her own wonderful essence. I so love Ms. Knight and am looking forward to more standard fare from her, but please include your own special being that we so love in your future sets.

All of the songs on this CD are great and the orchestration is superb. Listening to this CD reminds me of the Frank Sinatra and Nat King Cole Days when their albums made at Capitol Records were recorded while singing in the studio with an orchestra! It was the real deal. I don’t know if this CD was made that way (since everything is now computerized0 but it sure sounds like it was made the wonderful live “old school” way when singers really knew how to sing and needed no computer enhancement.

You may listen to snippets of all of the songs on the CD at the Verve web page for “Before Me.”

And here is the special video about “The Making of Before Me” that is available as a special bonus when you purchase your CD from Best Buy.

Part 1

Part 2

I am always happy when you stop by to visit. Thank you for your time.

2 Responses to “Before Me – Gladys Knight (2006)”

  1. jazzfan360 Says:

    I’m with you in that I *did* appreciate that the CD sounded like “the real deal” instead of a “piece-by-piece” production (even though that’s how almost everything is done now, which is just kinda rotten…coming from the jazz arena myself, I know how much that really hurts and in fact prevents any chance for new discoveries in the moment). But I also didn’t feel it really had anything that separated it from any of the other CDs in that same vein, and I definitely was hoping there’d be a lot more Gladys! Though, I *will* say, I really did enjoy her reading of “Come Sunday.” That one’s a keeper.

  2. sondan Says:

    “Do Nothing Til You Hear From Me” is one of my favorites from the set along with “Come Sunday.”

    I really hope that Miss Knight does more of the GAS, but uses her own style and not any of those that came “before her.” (SMILE)

    Thanks for you comments jazzfan360. I really love to hear other thoughts and opinions and I really appreciate that you took the time to share yours.

    SonDan


Leave a Reply

