InterMedia Boards the Soul Train

June 20, 2008

“MadVision Entertainment, a multimedia company focused on branded urban content, has acquired the Soul Train franchise from founder Don Cornelius. No financial terms were disclosed. MadVision is sponsored by InterMedia Partners.”

Read the complete Press Release here.

I hope this is good news in that the new owners finally release those classic Soul Train Episodes on DVD and/or air them on television. Soul Train is where I first saw Bloodstone, Eddie Kendrick’s solo performance, Elton John, The Jackson Five, Marvin Gaye and so many others perform during their prime. Those performances are historical gems.

I never understood why Mr. Cornelius would never release these classic shows but I guess he had his reasons.

I am hoping for nothing but good things to come from this transaction.  What do you think?

2 Responses to “InterMedia Boards the Soul Train”

  1. C.P. Lehman Says:

    There’s a new book out about the show, called A CRITICAL HISTORY OF SOUL TRAIN ON TELEVISION. It looks at the show from its start in Chicago in 1970 to the national franchise of 2008. It contains interviews with former dancers, guests, and colleagues of Cornelius.
    This is the weblink. http://www.mcfarlandpub.com/book-2.php?id=978-0-7864-3669-9

  2. sondan Says:

    C.P.,

    I can’t thank you enough for sharing this information and providing the link. I am an avid reader and this will surely be one of my next reads. As a teen I grew up with “Soul Train”. Every Saturday morning before I could leave the house I had to watch it!

    I am glad you found me and hope you visit often.

    Thanks again for sharing. That is what I love most about blogging as a hobby — the sharing of information. I learn a lot here in the blogosphere.

    SonDan


Leave a Reply

