Like a Fire – Solomon Burke (2008)

September 4, 2008

I saw Solomon Burke a few weeks ago performing on the David Lettermen Late Show and made my next purchase the new CD he was on the show to promote.

Initially a gospel disc jockey/singer Mr. Burke became a part of the great soul singer roster at Atlantic Records in the Sixties. I am not sure why, but he never “crossed over” to garner the same huge pop audience that the other Atlantic Soul singers did. But his music was a staple in my growing up years and it is great to see that his talents have not been laid to rest.

Mr. Burke finally won a Grammy for his 2002 contemporary blues album “Don’t Give Up on Me” the year after he was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

This latest record is what I would call Country/Soul/Blues and I happen to like it. I don’t quite understand the few mediocre and/or negative reviews I have seen on the web,  but like Sly Stone said “different strokes … for different folks!”

Here is the set list. Note some of Solomon’s famous friends who composed for this set.  😉 I have also included my two favorites for you to give a listen to — tracks 1 and 9.

Hope you enjoy them as much as I do and decide to check out the CD for yourself.

1. Like A Fire (Eric Clapton)

2. We Don’t Need It (Keb’ Mo/Alan Dennis Rich)

3. The Fall (Meegan Voss/Dann Kortchmar/Steve Jordan)

4. A Minute To Rest And A Second To Pray featuring Ben Harper (ben Harper)

5. Ain’t That Something  (Steve Jordan)

6. What Makes Me Think I Was Right  (Jesse Harris)

7. Understanding  (Steve Jordan/Meegan Voss)

8. You And Me (Jesse Harris)

9. Thank You   (Eric Clapton/Solomon Burke) Now this is one of my favorites but doesn’t it remind you of  “Born to Lose”?  Well it does to me. I guess Eric and Solomon both harbored that song in their subconscious when they wrote this one.  Kinda like George Harrison (R.I.P.) harbored “He’s So Fine” while composing “My Sweet Lord”. I’m just sayin’ . No harm intended.  😉

10. If I Give My Heart To You

I will close with this 2003 live performance by Solomon Burke for those readers who might be unfamiliar with his work. Enjoy.

4 Responses to “Like a Fire – Solomon Burke (2008)”

  1. legbamel Says:

    Not only does this sound like a fantastic record, but I spied Keb’ Mo’ in there. I’m definitely going to have to check this out.

  2. sondan Says:

    Hi legbamel,

    I think you will like this CD. All I know is that I am happy with my purchase and I am very cautious about my music budget — I don’t like to squander it 😉

    BTW, I am awfully glad for your comment here because it allowed me to find your blog which is great! Looks like I will have plenty to read online as summer turns to fall and we have those long evenings!

    If you don’t mind — I have just added you to my two music blogrolls and my blogspot blogroll.

    Enjoy your purchase and please keep stopping by.

    Have a good week.

    SonDan

  3. jazzfan360 Says:

    I’ll definitely have to check this out. Even though I loved the show (for a while), I’m ashamed to say I’d never heard of Solomon Burke until “Don’t Give Up on Me” was brought to my life through repeated exposure on The O.C.. It’s since become one of my favorite songs. (Props to them, though, for featuring good tunes…that show brought Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah” to me and a whole lot of other folks.) I’ve been meaning for a while to seek out Burke’s other stuff.

  4. sondan Says:

    Hi jazzfan360,

    Good to hear from you. Sorry for the delay in replying: sometimes I somehow miss a few items in my email inbox related to my blogs and your post was one that got overlooked.

    So did you get out yet to make this purchase? If so what do you think of the set?

    I think you will enjoy your purchase and it might be the start of many more Solomon Burke additions to your music library. His vintage stuff is truly wonderful.

    Hope to hear from you soon.
    SonDan


Leave a Reply

