The Way I See It – Raphael Saadiq (2008)

October 2, 2008

This product was obviously meant to be at this space in time! It is an almost perfect CD for we Boomers.

It sounds fresh and new yet Saadiq’s style, lyrics, musicality and instrumentation all point to great new music reminiscent of an earlier era that I love; some of it is strictly Motown, some of it Philly Soul and there is even an homage to doo-wop! Yes this CD has it all and if you don’t add this one to your collection then shame on you!

Almost a decade ago Motown Universal released a series of CDs called “Lost & Found” that contained some the the great unreleased songs from the infamous Motown “VAULT” .  When “Lost and Found: You’ve Got to Earn It (1962-1968)” came out containing music of the Classic Temptations, I played it and practically swooned like a school girl hearing something “new” from my favorite group. To my mind it sounded fresh and hip.

Well putting Saadiq’s CD in my automobile CD player gave me that same feeling. I felt like some Motown “vault” material had been release just for me! Every song sounded familiar yet fresh and new. The instrumentation was awesome. I wondered how in tarnation the tambourine playing sounded so authentic to the Motown Sound that I loved and wondered if the players had been coached by Jack Ashford – but when I got home from work to read the CD credits, I found that Jack Ashford himself was doing percussion on many of the songs.

This set should win a Grammy and if it doesn’t there is something wrong with the Academy and they might as well disband and call it a day.

Nothing much else to say except get it. Listen to a few of the tracks below and see what you’ll be missing if you don’t.

Track Listing

1. Sure Hope You Mean It. Sounds like Temptations “Lost and Found – Part 2 to me (LOL) and I love it!

2. 100 Yard Dash

3. Keep Marchin’

4. Big Easy featuring The Infamous Young Spodie and the Rebirth Brass Band

5. Just One Kiss featuring Joss Stone

6. Love That Girl. First single that I have heard getting some (but not enough) radio play. Four words – Fan. tab.u.lous!

7. Calling. Nice doo-wop “feel”, but I think the Spanish spoken words before and in the middle of the tune sort of spoiled the “feel” of the set. Ok so what do I know? I know what I like.

8. Staying In Love

9. Oh Girl. This song sounds like a missing track from the Delfonics “Walk Right Up to the Sun” LP. Remember that one fellow Boomers? I loved it then and I love this track now.

10. Let’s Take A Walk.  I love this song, but another of the small mis-steps (IMHO) on the lp is the lyric near the begining  “I want some sex witchu” sort of spoiled the sweet and innocent feel of the music – he could said lovin’ instead. Take a listen and tell me what you think.

11. Never Give You Up featuring Stevie Wonder and CJ Hilton of Baltimore, MD (Yes I am from Maryland so thought I’d shout out my state)

12. Sometimes

13. Oh Girl featuring Jay-Z.  Ok, but this is the third correction I would have made it I were producer. I understand that Jay asked Saadiq to participate and he added it as a Bonus track,  but it doesn’t fit the “feel” of the project to me. So don’t hurt me casue it’s my opinion and I’m sticking to it.

Be sure to check out this interesting interview with Saadiq that appeared Sunday, August 17, 2008 in the San Francisco Chronicle entitled “Raphael Saadiq revives Motown sound” written by freelance writer Lee Hildebrand

One Response to “The Way I See It – Raphael Saadiq (2008)”


  1. […] oldies, I have got to say that this CD is one of the two best new releases I have heard this year (the other being Raphael Saadiq’s “The Way I See It”) or maybe in the past FEW years.  There is not a bad song on this […]


Leave a Reply

