What a Night! – Harry Connick. Jr. (2008)

December 4, 2008

harry-connick-jr-what-a-night

I fell in love with the music of Harry Connick, Jr. when most of the world did — after seeing the movie “When Harry Met Sally.” I can recall rushing out to locate and buy the soundtrack to the movie. It was a perfect blend of movie and music if there ever was one and to this day I still play the soundtrack on the regular!

Of course as soon as I heard that there was to be a new holiday CD from Connick I pre-orded it on Amazon to be sure I got it as I possibly could last month and I have been enjoying it ever since.

The entire set is fab, but my favorites are the traditional carol “We Three Kings” (of course Harry does it any way BUT traditionally); “Let There Be Peace On Earth”; and “Winter Wonderland” performed as a duet with one of his daughter’s.

Here is the track list. It contains not only traditional holiday carols but holiday pop standards and songs that Connick himself penned, all done it the New Orleans/Big Band/Jazz style so unique to HC.

Track List:

1. It`s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

2. What a Night!

3. Christmas Day

4. Have a Holly Jolly Christmas

5. Please Come Home For Christmas. Here is a video of Connick and crew performing this song on the NBC “Today Show while promoting the new CD.

6. O Come All Ye Faithful

7. Dance of the Sugarplum Fairies – I love this rendition so much!

8. Let There Be Peace On Earth

9. Winter Wonderland

10. It`s Beginning To Look a Lot Like Christmas

11. Santarrific

12. Jingle Bells

13. Zat You Santa Claus

14. We Three Kings. Voice, piano and guitar are my favorite insturments and I particularly LOVE the way Harry plays the piano. His style is akin to what his fellow Louisianian, Fats Domnino, would perhaps sound like on acid (LOL). I just love his note selections!

15. Song For the Hopeful

CD Participants include:

Kim Burrell – vocals
Jonathan DuBose – guitar
Joe Magnarelli
Joe Barati – bass trombone
Roger Ingram – trumpet
Jerry Weldon – tenor saxophone
Charles “Ned” Good – alto saxophone
Dave Schumacher – baritone saxophone
Lucien Barbarin – vocals, trombone
Tony Kadleck
Neal Caine – vocals, bass instrument
Arthur Latin – drums, percussion
Dion Tucker – trombone
James Hall & Worship & Praise – background vocals
Jeff Bush
Kate Connick

I think you might enjoy the CD as much as I do. If not, so this post won’t be a total loss, I leave you with this clip of Connick guesting on the David Letterman Show on 11/25/08 to promote his CD! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

