Lean On Me:The Best Of Bill Withers (2000)

January 22, 2009

the-best-of-bill-withers-lean-on-me

Originally released on August 9, 1994 this is the 2000 remastered reissue on the Sony label  that I am reviewing here would be a great addition to any personal music collection.

This CD called my name while I was browsing for sale items in Walmart this week. As soon as I saw it (especially since the price was less than $10.) I knew it was the purchase for me. I read the track list and realized that there were some fabulous songs that I had not heard it decades. Radio today only plays “Ain’t No Sunshine” and perhaps “Lovely Day” but “Still Bill” Withers is much, much more than that! I also realized that I had no digital Bill Withers music for my MP3 player since all my BW LPs were on vinyl and/or cassette tape.

I couldn’t wait to get home to rip the CD. In fact I had to listen to it first and it brought back such wonderful memories.   Mr. Withers left the business after 15 years of writing and singing his  award winning compositions.

Every single song on this track list was composed or co-composed by Withers:

1. Lovely Day
2. I Want To Spend The Night
3. Let Me Be The One You Need
4. Hello Like Before
5. Tender Things
6. I Wish You Well
7. Ain’t No Sunshine


8. Grandma’s Hands


9. The Same Love That Made Me Laugh
10. Lean On Me
11. Harlem
12. Use Me


13. Who Is He (And What Is He To You)?
14. You Just Can’t Smile It Away
15. Just The Two Of Us  with Grover Washington, Jr.
16. Steppin’ Right Along
17. You Try To Find A Love
18. My Imagination

Recently WV Public Broadcasting’s Anna Sale  had a conversation with Bill Withers as part of the freshman class of inductees into the West Virginia Music Hall of Fame. This segment first aired Dec. 13, 2007, on the program “Outlook.” Russ Barbour co-produced the piece. Enjoy.

Honoree Bill Withers at the Rhythmn & Blues Foundation‘s Pioneer Awards on September 9, 2008 in Philadelphia.

You may find a biography of Bill Withers here.

The Official Bill Withers Site is here.

I thank you for checking in.  Please do come back soon.

black-signature

Leave a Reply

