“Playlist” – Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds (2007)

March 19, 2009


This is another of the CDs that I picked up at half price before Circuit City closed and it was a great purchase. Smooth crooner Babyface covers eight of the songs that influenced him growing up and the set is rounded out by two new originals.

I love Face’s  tenor, his style and basically anything that he sings — he does it well. This set is no exception. As you can see from the track list he loves some of the classic ballads of the Seventies/Eighties and I think that if you appreciate these songs you will enjoy this CD of Edmonds’ covers of them.

Track List:

1. Shower The People. A James Taylor original. I think this is my favorite on the CD. Check it out.

2. Fire And Rain . A James Taylor original.

3. Not Going Nowhere  – A new Babyface tune.

4. Time In A Bottle – A Jim Croce original.

5. Wonderful Tonight – An Eric Clapton original.

6. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door  – A Bob Dylan original covered                           with great success by Eric Clapton.

7. Longer  – A Dan Fogelberg original.

8. The Soldier Song – A new & lyrically timely Babyface tune. Beautiful.

9. Please Come To Boston – A Dave Loggins original.

10. Diary – A David Gates original

Listen to snippets of some of the songs in the promotional video for the CD “Playlist.”


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: